The National School Boards Action Center (NSBAC) is a 501 (c)(4) not-for-profit organization founded by the National School Boards Association (NSBA) to advocate at the federal and national levels for the advancement of public education, local school board leadership and excellence and equity in our nation’s public schools. Across the nation, 90,000 local school board members are responsible for governing nearly 14,000 school systems serving 50 million public school students.

Through legislative, legal and public advocacy, NSBAC works to mobilize advocates to act to ensure federal policy supports and strengthens the nation’s public schools.




For more information, please contact Deborah Rigsby.

Board of Directors

NSBAC is governed by a seven-member board of directors comprising current school board members who are recognized education leaders in their community and effective advocates at the state and national levels.

Neil Putnam
Mitchell School District #17-2, SD
Betty Reynolds
West Linn - Wilsonville School District, OR
Donald Hubler
L'Anse Creuse Public Schools, MI
Julie Bacon
Paradise Valley Unified School District, AZ
Nandi Sekou
Virgin Islands Board of Education
Susie Lawson
Tri-County Educational Service Center & Wayne County Schools Career Center, OH
Viola Garcia
Aldine Independent School District, TX